Andhra Pradesh merge 11 villages to develop Mangalagiri as model town – ET RealEstate

GUNTUR: In line with the promise to develop Mangalagiri as a model town, the state government has merged 11 neighbouring villages into the urban civic body.

The merger of the villages is aimed at the expansion of urban infrastructure to rural areas close to Mangalagiri town and is likely to place growth in areas adjoining Vijayawada on the fast track.

Sources said that the government is also planning to upgrade Mangalagiri into a mega municipal corporation by merging both Mangalagiri and Tadepalle municipal towns. Urban planners and experts have long been batting for the creation of a big city in between Guntur and Vijayawada in order to spread development and finally make Vijayawada and Guntur metro cities in the state.

According to an ordinance issued by the state government, Atmakur, Nowluru, Bethapudi, Yerrabalem, Chinakakani, Nidamarru, Nutakki, Kaza, Peda Vadlapudi, China Vadlapudi and Ramachandrapuram villages would be part of Mangalagiri municipality. All these villages are now part of Mangalagiri mandal. Similarly, Krishnayapalem, Neerukonda, Kuragallu villages would be part of Amaravati Metro Region Development Authority (AMRDA).

The merger of 11 villages would take the total population of Mangalagiri town to nearly 3.2 lakh. Sources said that the municipal authorities would initiate the process of delimitation of municipal wards very shortly taking the merger of villages into consideration. The existing 32 municipal wards would go up to 45 in the new design.
Andhra Pradesh merge 11 villages to develop Mangalagiri as model townThe state government had merged 10 villages in Tadepalli municipality, which would also become a big town on the banks of the Krishna. According to the ordinance issued by the government, Vaddeswaram, Praturu, Penumaka, Ippatam, Mellempudi, Chirravuru, Gundimeda, Undavalli, Kunchanapalle and Kolanukonda villages would now be part of Tadepalli municipality.

β€œThe merger of villages into fast growing towns is aimed at spreading equal development to all sides of the town. This would give the middle-class, the poor and migrant workers settling in the outskirts access to better urban infrastructure including roads, drinking water, sanitation, drainage, street lighting,” said Mangalagiri legislator Alla Ramakrishna Reddy.

The legislator said the government is taking up development in Mangalagiri and Tadepalle towns in a systematic manner and is committed to the development of all areas, adding that chief minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy has a vision for development of all areas.

Interestingly, the state government had merged nine village panchayats under Bapatla municipality through an ordinance. The move comes ahead of Bapatla becoming the district headquarters after the bifurcation of the districts. According to the ordinance, Kondrubhotlapalem, Asodivaripalem, Maruproluvaripalem, Maddiboyinavaripalem, Muttayapalem, Chintavaripalem, Machavaripalem, Valluvaripalem and Suryalanka would be part of Bapatla town.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *